The Mindset

25 06 2010

I know from experience that when you work in a job for a certain amount of time, you get into a mindset and it can be detrimental to your life. Police have it, quizzing people rather than chatting, prison officers treating people like prisoners, security treating people like thieves, mental health nurses treating patients like alcoholics or timewasters or like someone with little to no functioning.

The last one sounds a little extreme doesn’t it? It doesn’t happen does it? Oh yes it does and, whilst it can be understood like the other examples, it’s inexcusable. You will always find that the newer staff will treat you better than the older staff, the older more experienced staff will have the mindset. Unless you’re strong enough to tell them off for this (I have done it myself, I knew exactly where I stood) or it can be quite harrowing.

This type of behaviour is why I firmly believe that advocats should be involved from the very start of someones stay in hospital so that patients feel they have a voice. This is essential for recovery as bad experiences at this stage can echo through the rest of the persons life and carry with it negative thoughts of something which should be a good thing.

Of course people will go ‘I had a good CPN’ or ‘I had a good expeience’ blah blah blah, to which I respond ‘Good for you, not everyone is so lucky’. Hell, might even have staff going ‘That’s not how it is’ to which I respond ‘Bullshit. It’s human nature. It happens’.

The solution? I don’t know, but I think there should be a rota system so those who have been in a while get to work on something else which isn’t so demanding on them. We can’t allow this to become the inevitable, there must be a way of preventing it and it’s up to employers to make it happen and patients to not tolerate it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

