Psychos Follow-Up

16 03 2011

It’s that time again, at least this time it’s not about my impending travels but a follow-up to my last post about psychopaths and what makes them.

Now, if you remember this post, then this may mean something to you. If not then go back n read, sheesh, skipping poss, I dunno. Anyway, the basic idea of psychopathy is that they are superficial, egocentric, without empathy, pleasure in the manipulation of others, you get the drift. Of course my concern was that I may have the potential to be a psychopath so I did a little digging to see if there was any grounds to this. Why am I thinking about it? To be honest it’s something that I’ve suspected and, to a degree, it’s been something pretty cool as it’s a scary thing for people, makes me seem bigger n badder.

So what did I find? Yes, the potential is there, the only thing really keeping things in check is my level of guilt about… well, pretty much everything. Do I sound big n hard now? Despite my previous desire to appear scary, when faced with the darker side of yourself and the effect it has on others, the more you hate and, in a way, fear it.

As I said before, I wish I didn’t have the morals I have, I wish I could either be a good guy or a complete psychopath rather than a mix of the two. I wish there was some way of stopping myself from messing with people, to keep myself under control, at least put a band aid over till there’s proper help.

Ah well, something to bear in mind when I return for my adventures. I’ve got to start a list of things to do on my return at some point, I guess this should make the list alongside getting a job and getting somewhere to live. Done huh.

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 03 2011
lotte

A nice psychopath maybe? Is that possible? Must be,like you say u feel guilty so your not all that scary!

17 03 2011
nullfuture

Lol, well what can I say in reply to that?

19 03 2011
Rachael Black

Believe that everyone has the capacity to be a psychopath. also believe that you have to be a sociopath first -grin-

19 03 2011
nullfuture

:groans: Trust you Rachael lol. I’m not sure everyone has the potential to become a psychopath, I think it’s more Antisocial Personality that everyone has the capacity for, very similar stuff and is more down to nurture rather than nature (yup, I did, I went there).

The meaning of sociopath has been lost/absorbed over time and so its usage is a little… fuzzy. From ages ago, I remember someone telling me that the difference between a sociopath and a psychopath was that a sociopath doesn’t know what they’re doing is wrong, whereas psychopaths are fully aware. What do you think? Personally I think the whole idea of sociopath is now more Antisocial Personality Disorder, but then that begs the question of… is a psychopath born or made? Reckon it’s a predisposition in a way, not exactly an answer but hey ho.

Leave a Reply

