Icarus

20 03 2011

In Greek mythology Icarus was the son of Daedalus, an Athenian craftsman, both of whom were exiled to the island of Crete for annoying King Minos big time. Daedalus, being the extremely clever inventor, created wings of feather and wax with which he and his son could use to escape the island. Preflight warnings didn’t include ‘Your exits are here, here, and here’, it was simply ‘Don’t get too close to the sun or the sea’.

Icarus, as we know, became fascinated with the sun and pushed himself further and harder, going higher and higher untill he realised that the wax had melted and the feathers were gone. Gravity stopped having a fag break and exerted itself of young Icarus who plunged to his death in the sea.

This story is used as a warning against hubris, failed ambition, pushing too far etc etc.

Ever felt like Icarus? Ever pushed yourself further and further despite the risks? I know I have. Experience tells you that you will get hurt, experience tells you that it’s gonna cause problems. Experience is right. I still do it and you know what? It kills me every time. Being shot down, having my heart broken, it always hurts so very much.

But.

I’m not going to stop it, I’m not sure I can stop it, I’m not sure I want to. Sometimes I wish I knew how to apply it correctly, so that I didn’t screw up so many times but I wouldn’t stop it.

Do you fly too high?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

