Tribal Gathering

17 07 2011

Us humans really are fairly simplistic. We’re not lone wolves, we want to belong. To our pack, to our tribe.

There are other ways to put the preceeding, commonly along the lines of ‘social groups’. It’s used in the whole zoological field in order to show different groupings etc. As we’re animals, just like the moocow and the monkeychimp, similar terminology can be applied.

Ok, I’ll admit to being a little silly but what I said is true and I’m happy to belong to my tribe. And my tribe?

The Mentalists (feel free to go wooohahah รก la Finding Nemo, I know I did).

You see, we have our differing social groups, just look at Twitter and even these blogs, but the tribe is the same. You may not be a particularly happy participant but then you’ll generally be welcome and you’ll find people who know what you’re going through better than most.

Don’t worry, you don’t have to reveal more than you’re comfortable with and that can just be a few words. I will say that the more you put in, the more you get out. And everyone can put in something they think works for them, their style.

I guess this is just to say that I’m feeling comfortable in myself to say who I am, and what tribe I belong to.

Wonder if others feel the same way? And are they getting into the grass skirts? I’m not but then I don’t think my legs would look good.

Actions

Information

6 responses

17 07 2011
Pandora

Likewise!

I’d say that becoming too deeply immersed in this online world of empathetic madness has its drawbacks, but overall the benefits far outweigh the positives. Not least because being accepted as a mental has allowed me to ‘come out’ as one in my so-called real life. It’s hard to do, but I’m not ashamed, and if anyone has a problem with it, then it is their problem ๐Ÿ™‚

Twitter, blogging etc has, I’m convinced, saved my life more than once in the past. The Mentalists are truly a wonderful group of people ๐Ÿ™‚

17 07 2011
Stacy Cairns

HEY!! so i TOTALLY understand. this online world can totally suck you up and make you feel worthless, hopeless and stupid. but your so right WE NEED TO BELONG!! we need to be loved. we want people to listen to our every need just like a mother bear does her cub. YOU GOT THIS KEEP GOING!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

17 07 2011
Pandora

Bah. “The benefits far outweigh the negatives“, obviously!

17 07 2011
lotte

Good Post and very true

I am a participant in 2 tribes….the mentalist and non mentailst….that being said I prefer my mentalist tribe much more than the non mentailst tribe……….at least here I am me!!! If I was to post what i post on twitter on facebook…Id be disowned by the 95% of my ‘aquaintances’ ….i say aquaintances cos they are not friends just associates…..twiitering and bloggering on my homes ๐Ÿ™‚

As for the grass skirts….they itch!

17 07 2011
nullfuture

Pan, or should I call you Shark Bait (woohahah)? Yeah, vicariousness is something to be avoided but then it’s a trap most fall into at some point.

18 07 2011
Zoe Smith

I’ve never been a particularly tribal person, was considered more “prey” in my youth (hence the mentalism)

I love being a mentalist and the level of inclusion, empathy, information, support, friendship and love it brings.

Like Pan alludes to it is important not to immerse oneself fully in the madosphere but for me, a lot of the time and particularly at the moment it’s the safest place to be. I ensure I have a good supply of normals in my virtual and real life community too.

There is no other community in existence that would understand my days and the struggles they bring.

The best think to come out of this whole sorry episode in my life is my gentle welcoming assimilation into the mentalists, I think I’m close to saying-

“I’m glad I went mental” and I owe that to the madosphere and the mentalists within.

I also know that the self-hating, unsure, unworthy, invalidated part of me can be soothed by the knowledge that my role in the mentalist community is an important one. Being mental and being a mentalist makes me feel a bit special and wanted. We are a very loving, engaging, entertaining bunch.

Good post

Much love as always

Zoe
Xxx

Leave a Reply

