Crisis In Crisis

25 11 2011

If you’re on Twitter, you can’t have failed to notice @Mindcharity spreading the word about their report on crisis care. So I felt inspired to join in, in my way.

Want to read the report? Then go here to read it.

Ok, first of all, let me say this, if you’re subject to poor care then let people know. If you’re subject to great care then again, let people know. Why? Because we need the minimum level of crisis care to be the same all over the country, not just if you live in the right area. How? Easy, go to this page from Mind and follow the guidance there. I’ll admit, I don’t mind if you don’t read any further, just as long as you go look at the page I just linked to.

Still here? Hmm, suppose I should state my case for what I see as being a suitable level of care. Let’s see what happens.

So, it’s hard to know where to start. Mind makes some good points, but what does it mean to me? From personal experience, I’m shocked that individual rooms for those on an acute ward isn’t standard. This should be in place because when you’re vulnerable, you do need somewhere private you can go, to hide if needs be. And from experience, people do need to.

What next? Crisis care should be accessible 24/7, unlike the experience of Zoe Smith, and it should be very rapid as records should be available if you’ve been involved with mental health services before. The technology is there to make this happen, and not at a high cost.

Ok, what I mentioned before may not help those who are yet to access crisis care but this next one should. Referral from a GP, possibly one of the best to see originally, should take less than 48 hours, having to wait a week or so is nonsensical at best.

To be honest, the remaining factor is staff and all I can do is say that in my experience has been that there are good staff, some aweful staff, and a whole range between. Many will attest to this, especially those in the variety of crisis teams abound. There’s many reasosns for this but instead of blaming, we’re in this for solving.

Staff need better workplace care and they need better education so they stop using recurring misnomers, especially about personality disorders.

Have I missed anything out? Then either comment below or talk to Mind, or join the campaign and tell everyone else. Hopefully things can change sooner rather than later.

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 11 2011
anickdaler

I agree with all of that! I’m really hoping that Mind can help to get things improved because based on mine and others experiences it seems there’s sometimes a long way to go.

25 11 2011
NullFuture

Amen to that. Crisis care can have a bigger impact on the future state of someone than anything else, in theory it has the best potential cost/benefit ratio too

25 11 2011
theurbanworrier

i know you haven’t had joy with even getting through the door to crisis care, but the biggie for me is about referrals both to crisis and then onwards. I have *never* had a referral to/from crisis services work, so what’s the point even providing crisis in the first place.

27 11 2011
NullFuture

I get the feeling, partly from brief encounters I’ve had with crisis but mostly from what I’ve heard from others, that crisis teams are universally abysmal and fail on so many levels. Changes to this would probably make the biggest impact, the question is how to effect change

Leave a Reply

