Rights Words

22 01 2012

If you read much of my stuff, or know me in any way, then you may have gathered that I tend to see the world in a different way to most people. Probably won’t be any surprise to you when I say I don’t believe in gay rights.

How shocked are you right now? Has your horse gotten that bit higher? Are you more incensed than a very incensed thing? Well you might get a little more shocked when I don’t believe in rights for ethnic minorities or any of the other groups which happen to be out there, including those with a disability.

Man, the only thing that couldn’t surprise you was if I said I voted Conservatives/Republican.

You see, I don’t believe in these things because what I do believe in is rights. I don’t care about your sexual orientation, colour, race, religion, political affiliation, physical/mental status, I just care that everyone is given the same rights as me and I’m given the same right as everyone else. For me it doesn’t make sense that people get excluded simply based on a random generalisation that prevents them accessing the same things I can. Let’s face it, if I were denied things because I don’t fit into a demographic then I’d be pretty pissed off about it too.

Yes, there is such a thing as ‘positive discrimination’ which is just as bad as it shows hate towards a group. It may have a more sound basis than traditional discrimination but that doesn’t make it any more right, it just makes it wrong. You see, I’ve seen discrimination going both ways, and it’s abhorent to me no matter who it comes from. Yes, a woman may have had to work harder to get a job but I’ll say this – I don’t care. I don’t care because I expect the person who got hired to be the best person for the job, I see no other criteria. Should I become an employer then that would be my criteria for hiring. I won’t hire second best because they fit within a specific demographic. I know life isn’t that simple and employers make decisions for weird reasons that I don’t understand, but my personal opinion is that hiring anyone but the best is a bad move.

We are, all of us, vulnerable to discrimination. So before you decide to hate someone because they’re male, female, gay, straight, bi, transgender, black, white, all colours of the rainbow, rich, poor, famous, anonymous, normal, weird, whatever, stop. Just stop. It’s ok to hate someone because they hurt you or they’re an asshole (one usually follows the other but not always), it’s not ok to damn everyone else in their demographic because of that, or any other reason.

Actions

Information

One response

23 01 2012
theurbanworrier

yuh. like when the service lead at our community proudly commented that all 5 of our new starters were minorities. Well, I’d seen the new people, but simply hadn’t realised that they were ‘special people’ rather than regular people. And meanwhile, when a higher attrition rate than normal has kicked in for these guys, no matter, that must have all been clinical reasons, because after all, the whitecoats showed how bang on diverse we were by letting them in in the first place, it’s hardly a institutional problem if *they* didn’t fit in.

Leave a Reply

